Day 9 – How bad do you want it?

This is Day 9 of my 30-day writing challenge.While this blog largely talks about Postpartum Depression and Motherhood, it will also contain my reflections on different facets of life, my 2cents if you will. Lately, it’s been bothering me when I complain about stuff that is not going right in my life, or whine about things I have no control over. I gathered my thoughts and penned this brief piece.

* * *

Quite often we complain about the things in our lives that are not working- dysfunctional relationships, jobs that do not pay well, weight issues, feeling overwhelmed…among many others. While this is not to downplay the fact that these are real issues, sometimes all that is needed is an attitude adjustment if we are to make a move from the very issues that try to pull us down. Everything that you see today began in the mind, if you can realign your thinking, you can be able to start making a move towards what you want to see in your life. Enough with the complaining, what are you doing about it?

Trouble they say, is the flavor of life. It is almost impossible to think of having a trouble-free life, yet it is amazing how the same issues have the capacity to weigh us down. One of my life principles is not to worry. Yes, not to worry. That does not mean that I do not plan or strategize- it just means that I ask myself whether it is worth worrying about. This is essentially because there are two fundamental questions I ask myself when I am at cross roads- if I can do something about it, why worry? If I cannot do something about it, why worry? See, worry is an energy sapping emotion that will not get you anywhere.

I purposed to change my attitude to the issues I face by asking myself what I can do about them. At times, the most you can do is sit still and think it through. It may take days, weeks even months before a solution is forthcoming. The key thing is to look through the maze and see whether you can find a solution. What can you do about that friendship that is not adding value to your life? How about that relationship that is not headed anywhere? That job that you keep whining about Monday to Monday, what can you possibly change about it? How do you find balance in a world that is increasingly spinning faster and faster? Is it out of reach? Is it too far-fetched? I believe this is not the case.

If you want something so bad, you will find a way to go around it. I made a conscious decision to do what I can about my life, the best way I know how. Tired of complaining, I am changing my attitude. I am going to do what I can, I will intentionally make time for my son, seizing each day as it comes, I will look for that job, I will update my CV, I will fix the relationships that need fixing and let go of those that do not add value to my life. I will work out for that bum to firm up, I will start looking out for what I have and be grateful for the intangible things that add value to my life. I will start today. So, just how bad do you want it? Do something about it!!

2015-07-10 00.26.04
Manyatta Living 🙂
Leave a Reply

