DIY – Stick photo frame

One of the most therapeutic ways to deal with depression, and anything negative really is art therapy. While I did not use this as much as I’d have loved to when I was stuck in the mess that Postpartum Depression (PPD) is, in recent times I have found it a perfect way to bond with my son and melt away the day’s blues. I am hoping to make this a regular part of this blog, so if you love some art, be on the look out for that.

This week’s DIY project is a simple stick photo frame. I stumbled on this idea while scrolling through Pinterest (you can follow me here), and figured getting to do this my son would be precious time, and hitting one bird with two stones: calmness for half an hour, and getting something for me to put his photo on. For the win.

So, just as the name suggests, this is a photo frame made from sticks. You will need the following:

  • Sticks – use dried sticks. This way, you do not introduce mold to your living space. Plus, dry sticks are easy to break to the desired length
  • Yarn – I used yarn because I did not have wood glue, which is what is preferred for this DIY, but then again, you can always add your own touch, no?
  • Pair of scissors
  • Your photo, of course.

Here’s how I did it.

  1. I gathered the sticks with Jayden’s help, dried sticks scattered across the compound, approximating the length and width for the standard photo.

IMG_20160319_180622

2. I then grouped four stacks of sticks with approximately the same length to create an outline of sorts.

IMG_20160319_181100

3. Once I had an outline, I bundled up sticks in each stack and tied them with the yarn. If you have wood glue, you should use it at this point to bind the sticks.

IMG_20160319_181308

IMG_20160319_181733

4. When all the sticks were bundled, I then used the yarn to join the stacks so that the frame would come to life. The first two stacks, then the third and finally the fourth. If using yarn, make sure to put a firm tug on the yarns so that it does not come off.

IMG_20160319_181934

IMG_20160319_182220

IMG_20160319_184641

5. Aaaand, finally, the full frame above. Time to add the photos. Best thing about this, perhaps, is because I get to change the photo as frequently as I’d love to 🙂

IMG_20160322_164829

One of my favorite photos…

IMG_20160322_165118

And a little flashback didn’t hurt anyone…

IMG_20160322_165602

My all-time favorite on this DIY frame, this little champ here changed my life 🙂 ❤

Granted, this frame is probably not as perfect as the Pinterest one I saw, but hey, there is some beauty in that imperfection. It adds a somewhat rustic touch to my work space too, and that I absolutely loove!!

Anyone here use art therapy to manage their depression? What do you guys think of this DIY stick frame project? Have you tried it before? How did that pan out? Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “DIY – Stick photo frame

Leave a Reply

