Onwards

Just one year ago I started this blog as a space to express myself, to share my experience and ultimately to help a mom who may be suffering from Postpartum Depression (PPD). In just one year, it has grown to be a great space, both for me and for the moms I get to interact with on here as well as on my social pages. I see growth on here, I see strides made forward, and while there is still so much groundwork to cover in terms of awareness, I am hopeful that we can change this narrative, one story, one tweet, one post at a time.

Looking back and seeing how far we have come, and are still going had me in introspection mode. Then, chatting a friend recently, he asked me whether I was scared of getting PPD second time around. I paused, I sipped my tea and let that thought sink in. Scary? Yes of course, for the simple reason that if one has had PPD, they are at risk of getting it after subsequent births. At risk – that is the key word. This is not a guarantee that one will sink into depression, but certainly warrants a thought.

Read More: To Those I Hurt

Barring the circumstances that surrounded the birth of my son, I am hopeful actually, that I shall not battle the demons of PPD with baby #2. Let me make it clear, however, that a lot of work goes into this progress. Knowing some of the risk factors associated with PPD, and working to eliminate them is a good place to start. Putting deliberate effort in the following goes a long way in reducing the risk of PPD –  a planned pregnancy, getting a baby whilst financially stable as well as surrounding myself with positive support systems are some of the things I would do differently.

Secondly, I am hopeful and excited l that the coping skills I learnt during my therapy sessions will come in handy. This is a constant work in progress. There are some tough days when I question whether I am slowly sliding to those dark days, then I remind myself that the aim of therapy was not to make me a perfect mom, but to help me be the best version of myself.

Read  More: Takeaway lessons from therapy session II

I would also like to add that the growth in my spiritual walk has made a huge difference. Knowing that, even while I couldn’t see it, God was working behind the scenes so I could be in a position to help moms struggling to cope with motherhood and PPD. Meditation, prayer and Bible Study are some of the things in my coping toolbox. Ultimately, PPD has stretched me a whole lot. I like to think I am a better person and mom than I was before therapy kicked off.

PS: The need for me to be consistent on here means I have dedicated Mondays for posts fresh off the blog. These will revolve around Postpartum Depression, motherhood, life lessons and everything in between. Do click on the ‘Follow’ button to the right of this post 🙂  Do not be afraid to drop by in the comment section below as well and let me know your thoughts. If you need help, or someone to talk to, drop me a line at ppdisland@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

